Organizing Committee

Francisco J. Ocampo Torres (CEMIE-Océano A.C.) Chair of PAMEC 2022
Francisco is an Oceanographer from the Marine Science School of University of Baja California (1980), MSc in Physical Oceanography from CICESE (1982), and PhD from Oceanography Department, University of Southampton (1989), with more than 40 years’ experience with studies of ocean surface wave dynamics and related processes.

Active member of the WISE (Wind Waves in the Earth System) group since 1994, and of its Scientific Committee since 2014. Member of the Mexican Academy of Science since 2000, and of the Mexican National System of Researchers, at Level 3 since 2016. Founder member of CEMIE-Océano A.C.

Andrés Fernando Osorio Arias (Oceanicos) Chair of Technical Committee

Andrés F. Osorio is a professor at Universidad Nacional de Colombia, and he is the director of OCEANICOS research group. He is also the director of Center of Excellence in Marine Science – CEMarin ( He has experience in management of ocean and coastal zones (GZOC), renewable marine energies, numerical modelling for reanalysis, and forecasting and designing solutions for coasts and oceans engineering.

He has been involved in international projects such as: CoastView (vigilance of coastal systems in European countries), software development of SMC (Coastal Modelling System), and a technological strategy for climate change made for Colombia’s Environmental and Sustainable Development and UNEP-Riso. His experience as professor, international researcher, and consultant places him as a part of the international experts in Coastal Engineering, Marine Energy and GZOC in Central and South America.

Héctor García Nava (UABC)
Héctor is a research scientist at the Institute of Oceanological Research (IIO) of the Universidad Autónoma de Baja California. He is head of the Physical Oceanography Department of the IIO and a founder member of the Mexican Center for Innovation on Marine Energy (CeMIE-Océano A.C.). His research interest focus on wind-waves and wave related processes including wave energy (resource assessment and energy extraction), wave dynamics, air-sea interaction, and coastal dynamics.

M. del Pilar Sánchez Saavedra (CICESE)

Pilar is a research scientist at the Centro de Investigación Científica y de Educación Superior de Ensena (CICESE) at Ensenada, México. She is head of the Laboratory of Algal Biotechnology at Aquaculture Department on CICESE. His research focuses on the study of microalgae for uses in aquaculture, biotechnology, cosmeceuticals, pharmaceuticals and biofuels.

The organizers would also like recognize all the volunteers who made the event a success including our interns Josue and Karina and PAMEC.Energy Board members, Bruce Cameron, Tattiana Hernandez and Dana Morin.

Josue Quintanilla from El Salvador, is a professional physicist enthusiastic about the ocean energy with an rescue diver certification. Has experience with evaluation of coastal  hydrodynamic and wave modeling of his county. He has also collaborated with the making and updated process of natural science books. He is currently the El Salvador Embassador for Pan-American Ocean Energy Student Network, POES. 

Karina Ramirez Zamora is a Mechatronic engineer, with experience in the medical equipment industry. Currently, she is studying a master’s in engineering management at the University of Debrecen, Hungary, and working as communication assistant at PAMEC.Energy Association.

Corporate Sponsors

Envigour Policy Consulting
Teledyne Marine


CEMIE-Oceano A.C
Universidad Autónoma de Baja California
Centro de Investigación Científica y de Educación Superior de Ensenada, Baja California
Universidad del Norte Association

Conference Panelists & Presenters

Universidad Autónoma de Baja California
Centro de Investigación Científica y de Educación Superior de Ensenada, Baja California
Envigour Policy Consulting
Marine Renewables Canada
Pan-América Ocean Energies (POES)
University of Strathclyde
UNAM Instituto de Ingeniería
Iowa State University
Universidad de Colima
Grupo ICE
Centro de Investigación y de Estudios Avanzados del Instituto Politécnico Nacional
Instituto Politécnico Nacional
Laboratory of Engineering and Coastal Processes (LIPC-II-UNAM)
USEP – Unit of Electric Power Systems, CIEMAT
Universidad del Caribe
Instituto de Mecánica de los Fluidos e Ingeniería Ambiental
Universidad Tecnológica Nacional Facultad Regional Buenos Aires
International Network on Offshore Renewable Energy (INORE)
World Bank Group
Comisión Ejecutiva Hidroeléctrica Del Río Lempa (CEL)

Workshop Sponsors & Presenters

Fundy Ocean Research Centre for Energy
Sandia National Laboratories
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL)
Ocean Energy Systems